In case you are looking to find out everything you need to know about concealed weapons permit VA, you have come to the right place. Just make sure to read carefully through this guide, and you will get a better understanding regarding all the rules, regulations and laws applicable in case of the concealed weapons permits for the state of Virginia. There is no such thing as a common law or common regulations when it comes to the ability of a citizen to carry a handgun within the US- each state has got its own regulations, and there are also many reciprocity issues that need to be considered as well.
Basically, the application form for concealed weapons permit in VA can be downloaded online, so that you can check out how the form looks like and what are the required fields that need to be filled out. The form will require that you give details regarding your full legal name, your residential address and also a few physical features. Then, there will be a long set of questions which need to be answered with yes or no. These questions typically include the following:
- Have you ever been convicted of a felony offense
- Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor offense within the last 5 years?
- Have you been committed to the custody of the commissioner of behavioral health/developmental services?
- Have you ever received mental health treatment /substance abuse treatment in a health facility?
- Are you an alien who is not lawfully admitted for permanent residence within the US?
These are only a few questions that you will need an answer, but the list is quite lengthy, so you need to be prepared that filling out the application will take about 45 minutes. It is important to keep in mind that if your permit weapons concealed VA is denied, you are actually entitled to an oral hearing before a court. You are eligible to request a hearing, but only within up to 21 days from the exact date of the denial of your application.
The state of Virginia falls under the Shall Issue regulation when it comes to concealed weapons permit VA. The Shall Issue states within the US always require a special permit for any person who wants to carry a concealed weapon. There are many special eligibility criteria which need to be met. For instance, a criminal background check is run, and the person needs to be 21+ years old and a US legal citizen in order to have the right for such a permit.
Main permit requirements for the state of Virginia:
- permanent US resident
- the minimum age requirement as stated above
- submission of fingerprints
- instant background check (a computerized check)
- the person must attend a special certified firearm safety course
- practical qualification test proving proficiency in handling the weapon
- the payment of a fixed fee. Keep in mind that in 5 for years he permit expires, and you need to retake your certification. In that case, you will need to pay the fee again.
Besides Virginia the following states are also Shall Issue states:
*Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming .
How does a concealed weapons permit VA look like?
The permit is typically a special card, with the following inscription in the top left corner: Commonwealth of Virginia, 31st Judicial Circuit, PERMIT TO CARRY A CONCEALED HANDGUN. On this permit, there will also be mentioned that it must be carried with a proper photo ID. Also on the permit there will be listed your name, address, DOB, Height, Eyes, Gender, Weight, Issues date/Expiration date details. On the top right corner there will be mentioned the file number.
The permits are typically issued by the county or city court in which your permanently reside. In order to find out more details about the application process, you should contact the applicable court in your region.
In the state of Virginia, the VA concealed weapons permit is valid for 5 years. In many other states, this permit is valid for only 4 years. After you complete the application, the court is going to issue the permit in maximum 45 days. In case you are disqualified, you are going to be notified, and there will also be mentioned the reason for disqualification. You have the right to take the decision to court in up to three weeks from the date of denial.
Details pertaining to the cost of the permit:
The application processing for issuing a permit will cost you $10 for the state of Virginia. In order to conduct an investigation, the agency (the local law enforcement agency) may charge you a certain fee that will typically not exceed $35.
The overall cost needed for the VA concealed weapons permit will nit sum up more than $50.
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
States where the VA permits are NOT honored include:
Alabama, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, New York City, Oregon, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, Virgin Islands, Washington, American Samoa, Illinois, N. Mariana Islands
Virginia Gun Training
It is important to remember that you need to complete proper training in order to be able to handle a gun. Also, it is a legal requirement too that you can make proof of completing such a certified course. There are many approved course providers available out there who can offer an online concealed handgun permit class for even as little as $30.
You need to ensure that the course is state recognized and that all of the instructors you will work with, own the certifications which are honored by the state of VIRGINIA. You can find out such detailed and important information if you check out the main website of the provider.
Throughout the curse you will learn everything you need to know about the safety requirements regarding the carrying of a firearm. Concealed carry is a topic that you need to learn about especially if you want to get your VA permit for concealed weapons fast.
After you will take the class, you will just need to print your certificate and then you can already start applying at the local courthouse in order to get your permit. Completing such a course is generally the fastest way of obtaining your weapons permit.
Choose yourself a provider who allows for as many extra retakes as necessary, without having to pay anything more. You just need to pay once for the course, and then if you fail you can retake the examination if needed.
Example questions for Virginia concealed handgun permit safety class exam:
ü You might be asked whether or not mechanical safeties are indeed fool proof and never fail? You need to answer this question with a True or False answer
ü Then, you might have multiple choice questions pertaining to cleaning your gun. So, when you have to clean your gun, it is extremely important to- use as much oil as possible or never use oil in excess, or make sure to read the owner’s manual
For the first question, the correct answer is False. Mechanical safeties are not fool proof and made so that they will never fail. Then, for the second question, both B and C answers are correct. You should never use oil in excess; rather pay attention not to over-oil the gun, and always check the handgun manual.
As you can note, before you take your VA concealed weapons permit you need to take an examination and sometimes the questions might be tricky. Invest quality time into research, and select a truly reputable provider of such classes online.
How are background checks run
After you have filed your application at the court clerk office, the local Police Department is going to conduct a background check on you. You might have to agree to become part of an interview with the police, in case the officials have found it that you might be denied the right to carry such a permit.
When the police has finished with the investigation (the background check), all the important information is going to be sent to the court judge of a certain circuit. The judge is the one who is going to accept or deny the Concealed Handgun permit application.
How will you get your VA concealed weapons permit?
Once your application has been approved, you are going to be mailed the permit to the address noted within the application form. When you receive your permit through mail, it is extremely important to sign it.
The concealed handgun permit is going to be issued in 2 copies. One copy goes to the case file, and the other one will go to the Virginia State Police. The Police is going to process all the personal information displayed on the permit- the Police will basically enter all these details into the Virginia Criminal Information Network database. This is done so that any law enforcement personnel or organization will have access to the details. When law enforcement officials need to run an investigation on the applicant for example, they can get all the needed details through the Virginia Criminal Information Network. This is an extremely important safety measure, and this is how your concealed handgun permit is going to be actually processed.
The online world serves as a huge pool of free information. Therefore, if you reside in the state of Virginia, and you are interested to find out more details pertaining to the concealed weapons permit VA, do not hesitate to research and get the information that you need. You can even contact the local police department in order to get access to even more detailed information regarding these permits.
Don’t forget that it is imperative to present a photocopy of the certificate of completion of a certified course or class in handling a weapon. Otherwise, your application could be easily denied.
Duplicate handgun permits can be issued in the following cases:
-change of address- and then you have to pay $10 as a fee. All you have to do is ask for a “Request for Duplicate Permit” if you changed your address
-in case of a lost or stolen permit- the fee is only $5- and again, you must submit a request for duplicate permit